

MICHIGAN REPUBLICANS

SECCHIA – WEISER REPUBLICAN CENTER 520 SEYMOUR AVENUE • LANSING, MICHIGAN 48933 (517) 487-5413 • www.migop.org

Challenge E:

Robert Montilla challenges the delegate list and alternate list submitted to MRP by Macomb CD 10. Montilla claims that according to the video evidence there are large discrepancies between the delegates and alternates read at the county convention and the ones listed on the official list sent to MRP. In the challenge, Montilla states the following:

1) Two persons whose names were read as Alternates at the county convention now are listed as Delegates. Joel Cole and Joseph Gorak are both currently listed as delegates. Mr. Cole was the 37th name read as an alternate and Mr. Gorak was the 85th name read to be an alternate. These persons were not approved by the sub-caucus delegation to be listed as Delegates.

Official Ruling: This is in fact supported by the video evidence.

Official Result: Joel Cole and Joseph Gorak were removed from the Delegate list and placed on the Alternate list as #68 (Joel Cole) and #69 (Joseph Gorak).

2) Steven Stoll, a precinct delegate from Macomb Township, was told he would be added to the list as a Delegate. On the final list, Mr. Stoll is not listed as a Delegate or an Alternate.

Official Ruling: This is in fact supported by the video evidence. Official Result: Steven Stoll has been placed on the Delegate list.

- 3) More Delegates (by my count 95) were approved for the slate than actual slots allowed (the 10th district in Macomb County was apportioned 93). In following the events details per the video, I derived the count as follows:
 - a) Initial List of 93 Delegates read.
 - b) After Precinct Delegate preference rule was presented, 14 names were removed from the list (Al Block, Charlie Pillivant, Frank Cusumano, Gino Vitale, James Carabelli, Julianne Cusmano, Kathleen Fredal, Kevin Brockert, Marianna Frontera, Mark Sikorski, Michele Okoniewski, Philip Dyer, Richard Kolasinski, William Conway). The list now stands at 79 Delegates.
 - c) Two names are added (Jan deBeauclair and Steven Stoll). The list now stands at 81 Delegates.
 - d) A total of 14 Delegates are moved forward from the Alternate list (Barb Bulic, David Novak, George Rakowiecki, Leo Garry, Maria Grot, Michael Rice, Paul Rakowiecki, Paul Smith, Pietro Loria, Richard Gluski, Robert Russo, Ronald Primrose, Roy Mills, Ruthann Schinzing). The list now stands at a final total of 95 Delegates.

It is clear that the overall count of approved Delegates exceeded the apportioned allotment.

Paid for by the Michigan Republican Party with regulated funds. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee. 520 Seymour Avenue, Lansing, MI 48933 • www.migop.org Official Ruling: The video evidence does not determine without any doubt who was removed from the Delegate list. The video only determines who was read as a Delegate. The original Delegate list that was turned into MRP Headquarters was used to determine who was removed and which Alternates were moved up to be Delegates. Therefore, A, B and C are supported by the video and the original list that was turned in to MRP headquarters. However, pertinent to D the original list shows that Michael Rice, George Rakowiecki, and Paul Rakowiecki were left on the Alternate list and not placed on the Delegate list.

Official Result: The final total of Delegates for Macomb CD 10 came to 92.

- 4) People that were called to be Alternates and approved by the convention delegation are not present on the final list as Alternates. These people are:
 - Aaron J. Goetsch
 - Alan Hauser
 - Art Zisk
 - Audrey Victor
 - Chuck Urbauer
 - Craig Sherman
 - Cynthia Gagleard
 - Edward Smith
 - James Mangiapane Jr.
 - John Beale

- Joseph Janosky
- Laura Lynn Szymanski Boyles
- Lawrence Clarkston
- Nancy J. Beirne
- Paula Sherman
- Renee Gucwa
- Roger Komlan
- Sandra Drobeck
- Sandra Szubielski
- Stephen Szubielski

Official Ruling: This is in fact supported by the video evidence.

Official Result: All names above will be added at the end of the list of Alternates (#70 - #89). These names were added at the end since there was no clear statement that the order in which the names of the Alternates being read would be the order in which they would be ranked.

- 5) People that were NOT called to be Alternates are present on the final list as Alternates. This group was not approved by the convention delegation. These people are:
 - Al Block
 - Barry Brockert
 - Daniel Petroski
 - Darlene Ziolkowski
 - Don Eison
 - Doug Betzing
 - Edward Pienkowski
 - Eric Brzusek
 - Halina Weidner-Czaja
 - Irena Jablecki
 - James Senstock
 - Jaroslaw Rumin
 - John Snider
 - Jordan Bonanno

- Karen Betzing
- Kevin Brockert
- Mark Sikorski
- Mark Tyza
- Nicholas Krol
- Paula Filar
- Richard Kolasinski
- Richard Konrad
- Richard Paraventi
- Robert Knight
- Stanislawa Lalewicz
- Stanley Krol
- Ted Zalewski
- Thomas Christ

Official Ruling: This is in fact supported by the video evidence except for the following names; Barry Brockert and Daniel Petroski. Those two names were read as Alternates and deserve to be on the Alternate list.

Official Result: All the listed names except for Barry Brockert and Daniel Petroski have been removed from the Alternate list.